On this page 10 sections
SAIF Zone (Sharjah Airport International Free Zone) sits next to Sharjah International Airport and is built around warehouses, offices and land. It shows no licence price on its web pages, but its own downloadable forms carry a licence fee table and a rent table for offices and warehouses. This page sets out those official figures with the date printed on each form, the visa and capital rules from SAIF Zone’s own pages, and what you still need a quote for, as checked on 4 October 2026.
SAIF Zone licence fees
SAIF Zone issues three licence types: trade (import, export, distribution and storage of up to three similar product lines), service and industrial, the last subject to clearance from its Health and Environment Department. Its License Amendments form (version March 2021) prices them by the number of activities, in AED a year:
| Licence | 7,500 | 10,000 | 15,000 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commercial (trade) | 1 to 3 activities | 4 to 5 activities | 6 to 10 activities |
| Service | 1 activity | 2 to 3 activities | 4 to 5 activities |
| Industrial | 1 activity | 2 to 3 activities | 4 to 5 activities |
Some activities have a fixed price whatever their number. AED 10,000: e-commerce, precious metals, foodstuff, chemicals, logistics, medical and pharmaceutical, freight forwarding, telecom and consultancy. AED 15,000: aviation, shipping, investment of own funds, and, subject to management approval, oil and gas, supermarkets and audit and accounting. The licence fee is not refunded if you cancel before expiry, and a category upgrade during the year is charged pro rata.
Offices and warehouses: the rent table
Setting up in SAIF Zone means choosing a licence and a facility, and the lease and the licence are renewed together. Rent is paid yearly. SAIF Zone’s Lease Change form (version July 2021) lists, in AED a year:
| Facility | Rent | Service charge | Other | Standard visas in this table |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAIF Office | 15,000 | 3,000 | Signboard 300 | 5 |
| SAIF Executive Office (unfurnished) | 20,000 | 3,000 | Signboard 300 | 8 |
| SAIF Suite, from 21 square metres | 1,650 per square metre | 3,000 | Signboard 300, deposit 3,500 | 12 |
| SAIF Suite, Gold Park | 20,000 | Not stated | Not stated | 8 |
| Warehouse 125 m² | 60,000 | 6,300 | Deposit 5,000, utilities deposit 3,000 | 15 |
| Warehouse 250 m² | 110,000 | 6,300 | Deposit 5,000, utilities deposit 5,000 | 25 |
| Warehouse 400 m² | 160,000 | 6,300 | Deposit 5,000, utilities deposit 7,000 | 35 |
| Warehouse 600 m² | 205,000 | 6,300 | Deposit 5,000, utilities deposit 10,000 | 45 |
SAIF Zone also offers plots from 2,500 square metres, a jewellery park, container parking and staff accommodation. Staff earning under AED 1,600 a month, or in the labour category, must live in SAIF Zone accommodation, listed at AED 22,800 per room of six a year or AED 5,000 per bed space.
What the first year costs
A trading company with up to three activities in a SAIF Office comes to AED 25,800 in the official tables: 7,500 for the licence, 15,000 rent, 3,000 service charge and 300 for the signboard. Visa, establishment card and medical fees come on top, and SAIF Zone does not publish them. Because both tables carry 2021 form dates, treat this as a starting point for a quote, not a price.
Visas
The number of visas comes with the facility, but SAIF Zone’s two official sources disagree. Its business set-up page says 3 visas with a SAIF Office, 5 with an Executive Office and 8 with a SAIF Suite; its 2021 rent table says 5, 8 and 12. Warehouses carry 15 to 45 visas by size. Extra visas need committee approval and at least seven working days. SAIF Zone’s FAQ says its residence visa is valid three years for investors and two years for employees. Visa fees appear on its forms only as a “processing fee” with no figure; the PRO card is AED 500.
Legal forms and share capital
- FZE: one shareholder, a person or a company.
- FZC: more than one shareholder.
- Branch of a UAE company or of a foreign company.
SAIF Zone sets a minimum capital of AED 150,000 (USD 41,000) for an FZE or FZC and none for a branch. This is higher than many Sharjah zones; compare the Sharjah free zones before you choose.
How to set up in SAIF Zone
- Agree the licence type, activities and facility with a SAIF Zone business advisor.
- Submit the documents online: the application, a project summary, passport copies and, for a corporate shareholder or a branch, the certificate of incorporation, memorandum and articles, board resolution and power of attorney. Corporate documents must be notarised and attested by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the UAE embassy in the country of origin.
- Pay online and receive the licence.
SAIF Zone promises licences and permits within one hour of a complete application, and its FAQ says licences are issued the same day.
Renewal, changes and closing
- The lease and the licence are renewed together; FZE and FZC companies file audited financial statements online at renewal, and an original certificate costs AED 100.
- Changing activities within the same category costs AED 1,000.
- Other amendments: change of manager AED 2,000, director AED 2,000, capital AED 6,000, company name AED 7,000, share transfer AED 10,000.
- Letters: bank account NOC AED 100, capital deposit letter AED 200, good standing AED 500.
- Closing: 90 days’ notice; a late liquidation costs AED 5,000.
Working outside the zone
SAIF Zone states that its licence is valid for operating only inside the free zone. Goods can be sold in the UAE market after paying customs duty. A branch or subsidiary outside the zone needs a SAIF Zone NOC: AED 3,000 for an FZE or an FZC with up to three shareholders, AED 5,000 for an FZC with more.
Corporate tax
SAIF Zone describes its companies as subject to 0% corporate tax as per the corporate tax law. That rate applies only to qualifying income of a company that meets the conditions; read qualifying free zone person before relying on it. SAIF Zone’s FAQ still says that no corporate tax applies; that line does not reflect the federal corporate tax law in force since June 2023.
What SAIF Zone does not publish
- Any price on its web pages; the figures above come only from its forms dated 2021.
- A current package or flexi desk price. Figures such as “from AED 10,800 with three visas” circulate on consultant sites; we found no official source for them.
- A separate registration fee, visa fees and the establishment card fee.
- An activity list.
For every free zone that does publish a price, see the UAE free zone company setup cost census.
Other Sharjah free zones we cover: SHAMS, SPC Free Zone, Hamriyah Free Zone and SRTIP.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a SAIF Zone licence?
SAIF Zone’s licence fee table, in a form dated March 2021, lists AED 7,500, 10,000 or 15,000 a year by licence type and number of activities; activities such as e-commerce or logistics are AED 10,000 and aviation or shipping AED 15,000. SAIF Zone does not show prices on its web pages, so ask for a written quote.
Do I need an office in SAIF Zone?
Yes, setup means a licence and a facility, renewed together. SAIF Zone’s rent table, dated July 2021, lists the SAIF Office at AED 15,000 a year plus a AED 3,000 service charge and a AED 300 signboard, and warehouses from AED 60,000 for 125 square metres.
How many visas does a SAIF Zone company get?
It depends on the facility, and SAIF Zone’s sources differ: its set-up page says 3 for a SAIF Office, 5 for an Executive Office and 8 for a SAIF Suite, while its 2021 rent table says 5, 8 and 12. Warehouses carry 15 to 45 visas. Extra visas need committee approval.
What is the minimum capital in SAIF Zone?
AED 150,000 (USD 41,000) for an FZE or FZC. A branch of a UAE or foreign company needs no minimum capital.
How long does SAIF Zone company formation take?
SAIF Zone promises licences and permits within one hour of a complete application, and its FAQ says licences are issued the same day. Corporate documents from abroad must first be notarised and attested.
Can a SAIF Zone company sell in the UAE?
SAIF Zone says its licence covers operations inside the free zone, and goods can be sold in the UAE market after paying customs duty. A branch or subsidiary outside the zone needs a SAIF Zone NOC costing AED 3,000 or 5,000.
Official references used for context in this article.
- SAIF Zone: business set-up
- SAIF Zone: FAQ
- SAIF Zone: License Amendments form with the licence fee table (March 2021, PDF)
- SAIF Zone: Lease Change form with the rent table (July 2021, PDF)
- SAIF Zone: document requirements (PDF)
- SAIF Zone: renewal form (PDF)
- SAIF Zone: NOC form (PDF)
- SAIF Zone: about the free zone
Need help with this?
Submit a request and receive tailored offers from verified UAE business consultants. Free, no obligation.