On this page 5 sections
UAQ Free Trade Zone is Umm Al Quwain’s free zone, about 30 minutes from Dubai by the zone’s own description, and it competes on price with the cheapest zones in the country. It publishes two setup packages: UAQ LYTE from AED 5,500, with no visa, and UAQ START at AED 12,500, with one residence visa. Its homepage also advertises an all-inclusive setup at AED 2,266 per month and a freelance permit with visa at AED 1,818 per month; these are monthly instalment offers, and the zone does not state their term. This page sets out what the zone publishes, what it does not, and how it compares. Checked on uaqftz.gov.ae on 8 August 2026 and again on 3 October 2026; note the zone moved to a .gov.ae domain, and its old uaqftz.com address redirects there.
| Advertised package | Price |
|---|---|
| UAQ LYTE, no visa | AED 5,500 |
| UAQ START, one visa | AED 12,500 |
| All Inclusive, monthly instalment | AED 2,266 / month |
| Freelance Permit + Visa, monthly instalment | AED 1,818 / month |
Source: UAQ Free Trade Zone, checked 8 August 2026; UAQ LYTE and UAQ START prices from the zone’s blog posts of 29 July and 11 August 2026, read 3 October 2026. The monthly figures are instalment offers and UAQ does not state their term, so they cannot be turned into an annual price; ask for the full contract term and what “all inclusive” includes, in writing.
Licence types and activity rules
| Licence | Activity rule |
|---|---|
| Commercial | up to 10 similar or 3 different activity categories |
| Consultancy / service | up to 2 activities |
| Freelance permit | up to 2 activities |
| Industrial | manufacturing and processing |
The catalogue holds over 1,500 activities, and dual licensing is available within the same entity. Source: UAQ FTZ, licences and entities, checked 8 August 2026. Ten similar activities on one commercial licence is generous: SPC allows five mixed, Meydan three groups.
Entity types and capital
| Fact | What UAQ FTZ states |
|---|---|
| FZE | single shareholder |
| FZC | 2 to 50 shareholders |
| Branch | of an existing company |
| Minimum share capital | AED 300,000, AED 1,000 per share |
| Proof of capital | not required; the zone states no proof of start-up capital is needed |
| Licence validity | one year minimum, multi-year options |
The AED 300,000 is declared capital, not money you deposit and freeze: the zone itself says no proof is required. Do not let the number scare you off the comparison shortlist.
What UAQ FTZ does not publish
| Item | Status as of 8 August 2026 |
|---|---|
| Per-licence annual prices | only UAQ LYTE (AED 5,500) and UAQ START (AED 12,500) are published, in blog posts of 29 July and 11 August 2026; other prices are quoted on request |
| Visa allocation and visa fees | not published |
| Renewal cost | not published |
| Office and flexi-desk upgrade prices | not published |
| What the packages include | published: UAQ START lists licence, one visa, medical and Emirates ID, insurance, co-working space and bank account assistance |
The pattern is the same as at most cheap zones: an advertised entry number and a quotation for everything else. Compare UAQ against the other budget options in the cheapest free zones guide before asking for quotes, and ask every zone the same three questions: total first-year cost with your visa count, renewal cost, and what happens to the price in year three.
Opening a business bank account
A bank account does not come with a UAQ Free Trade Zone licence: the bank opens it separately, after its own review of the company, its owners and the expected transactions. For a new small company, two common starting points are Mashreq’s NeoBiz account, which starts at AED 99 plus VAT a month on the Pro plan, with no minimum balance, and RAKBANK’s RAKstarter account, which costs AED 103.95 a month plus a required RAKvalue package from AED 51.45, with no minimum balance (banks’ own fee schedules, checked October 2026). Compare all of them on our UAE business banks page.
Consultant coverage in this directory
From the Emirae directory, measured 8 August 2026.
| Measure | Count |
|---|---|
| Active consultants in the directory | 70 |
| Declare UAQ FTZ specifically | none yet; the zone is not among the declared specialisations |
| Cover the emirate of Umm Al Quwain | 13 |
| Handle company formation | 43 |
Stated plainly rather than hidden: no consultant in this directory currently lists UAQ FTZ as a declared zone, which mirrors how founders use it: direct with the zone, or through generalist formation firms. Thirteen firms cover the emirate and 43 handle company formation; several of those quote UAQ setups on request.
UAQ advertises monthly instalments next to its package prices, so compare the package prices, not the monthly figures. The comparison against every other zone is in UAE free zone company setup cost.
Free zones in Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah we cover: Ajman Free Zone, Ajman NuVentures Centre, RAKEZ, RAK ICC, Fujairah Free Zone and Fujairah Creative City.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a UAQ free zone licence cost?
UAQ FTZ publishes UAQ LYTE from AED 5,500 with no visa and UAQ START at AED 12,500 with one residence visa (uaqftz.gov.ae blog posts of 29 July and 11 August 2026, read 3 October 2026). Its homepage also advertises an all-inclusive setup at AED 2,266 per month and a freelance permit with visa at AED 1,818 per month as instalment offers, with no term stated.
How many activities can one UAQ licence hold?
A commercial licence covers up to 10 similar or 3 different activity categories; consultancy, service and freelance permits cover up to 2 activities. The catalogue exceeds 1,500 activities.
What entity types does UAQ FTZ register?
FZE with a single shareholder, FZC with 2 to 50 shareholders, and branches of existing companies.
Do I need to deposit AED 300,000 capital?
AED 300,000 is the stated minimum share capital, but the zone says no proof of start-up capital is required; it is declared, not deposited.
Does UAQ Free Zone offer visas?
Yes. UAQ START at AED 12,500 includes one residence visa, the advertised freelance package includes a visa, and company packages carry visa options. Separate per-visa fees are not published; they come with the quotation.
What does renewal cost at UAQ FTZ?
Not published as of 8 August 2026. Ask for the renewal figure in writing before paying the first year.
How far is UAQ Free Zone from Dubai?
UAQ Free Trade Zone describes itself as about 30 minutes from Dubai. Companies serve Dubai clients from UAQ, but a Dubai address needs a Dubai licence.
Is uaqftz.com the official website?
It redirects to uaqftz.gov.ae, which is the official domain now.
Want UAQ quoted against SPC and Ajman for your case? Describe your case and compare offers from consultants.
Official references used for context in this article.
Need help with this?
Submit a request and receive tailored offers from verified UAE business consultants. Free, no obligation.