On this page 7 sections
- Every zone, cheapest published price first
- UAE free zone company setup cost, component by component
- How a free zone company setup actually runs
- What a UAE free zone licence does not give you
- Opening a business bank account
- Free zone against mainland and offshore
- Choosing on price without being caught by it
UAE free zone company setup cost is quoted with total confidence across this search result and published by fewer than half the authorities that charge it. We checked sixteen UAE free zone offerings on the zones’ own websites on 14 August 2026. Eleven publish a starting figure, and Fujairah Creative City joined them in August 2026; the other four publish none on their web pages (two of them, Hamriyah and SAIF Zone, have older or indicative figures in an FAQ or in forms, rechecked on 4 October 2026), and only a handful say anything about renewal. SHAMS, RAKEZ and ADGM were rechecked on 27 September 2026, and SPC, UAQ and Fujairah Free Zone on 3 October 2026. This page is that census: what each zone states, what is charged on top of the licence, and where a published number stops being the whole number.
Every zone, cheapest published price first
The right-hand column is the one that matters. A zone that publishes its price can be compared; a zone that does not can only be quoted at, and the quote is an agent’s offer rather than a tariff.
| Free zone | Emirate | Lowest published entry | Published by the zone? |
|---|---|---|---|
| DMCC (AstroLabs) | Dubai | AED 1,925 | Yes, dmcc.ae |
| Ajman Media City | Ajman | AED 4,999 a year, zero visa | Yes, amcfz.ae |
| UAQ Free Trade Zone | Umm Al Quwain | AED 5,500 UAQ LYTE, zero visa; AED 2,266 a month is an instalment offer with an investor visa, term not stated | Yes, uaqftz.gov.ae |
| SPC Free Zone | Sharjah | AED 5,750 zero visa; One Visa Package from AED 13,175 | Yes, spcfz.ae |
| SHAMS | Sharjah | AED 5,760 media, AED 6,885 standard, zero visa, VAT included | Yes, shamsfz.ae |
| RAKEZ | Ras Al Khaimah | AED 6,000 zero visa, AED 12,000 with one visa | Yes, rakez.com |
| Masdar City Free Zone | Abu Dhabi | AED 7,000 Startup, AED 17,500 with one visa | Yes, masdarcityfreezone.com |
| Meydan Free Zone | Dubai | AED 12,500 Regular | Yes, meydanfz.ae |
| Fujairah Free Zone | Fujairah | flexi desk from AED 18,000 a year; licence not priced | Facilities only |
| ADGM | Abu Dhabi | USD 5,500 registration, then USD 5,000 a year, plus the USD 300 data protection fee | Yes, adgm.com |
| DIFC | Dubai | USD 20,000 year one (USD 8,000 plus USD 12,000) | Yes, DIFC fee schedule |
| IFZA | Dubai | none stated | No |
| Ajman Free Zone | Ajman | none stated, estimate by e-mail | No |
| Fujairah Creative City | Fujairah | AED 3,999 a year, Media package, zero visa; see Creative City licence cost | Yes, since August 2026 |
| Hamriyah Free Zone | Sharjah | indicative AED 11,000 in its FAQ; see Hamriyah business setup | FAQ only |
| SAIF Zone | Sharjah | AED 7,500 licence in a form dated March 2021; see SAIF Zone company formation | In forms only |
Two rows repay a second look. DMCC’s AED 1,925 is an AstroLabs co-working licence and not a comparable mainstream package: DMCC’s cheapest ordinary route, Basic Biz, is AED 35,484. And UAQ’s AED 2,266 a month is not its entry price: it is a monthly instalment offer for an all-inclusive package with an investor visa, and UAQ does not state its term. UAQ’s published entry is UAQ LYTE at AED 5,500 with no visa, and UAQ START, with one visa, is AED 12,500.
UAE free zone company setup cost, component by component
The licence is one line on a bill with six or seven lines. This table carries only amounts a zone or authority publishes, with the source against each; where nobody publishes a figure, the row says so rather than filling the gap.
| Element | What it is | Published amount | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free zone licence | The trade licence itself, renewed every year | from AED 3,999 a year | creativecity.gov.ae, 4 Oct 2026 |
| Establishment card and e-channel | One-time immigration registration, required before any visa | AED 1,600 establishment card plus AED 2,600 e-channel registration, once, at Masdar City Free Zone | masdarcityfreezone.com, 27 Sep 2026 |
| Visa allocation | The right to sponsor one visa, bought per slot | AED 1,850 per visa at Meydan | meydanfz.ae, 8 Aug 2026 |
| Employment visa | Residence visa for a staff member | AED 3,500 per person at Meydan | meydanfz.ae, 8 Aug 2026 |
| Investor visa | Residence visa for the owner | around AED 4,000 at Meydan | meydanfz.ae, 8 Aug 2026 |
| Medical test | Compulsory fitness screening for every visa | AED 350 at Masdar City Free Zone | masdarcityfreezone.com, 27 Sep 2026 |
| Emirates ID | The federal identity card, issued per visa | AED 450 for two years at Masdar City Free Zone | masdarcityfreezone.com, 27 Sep 2026 |
| Extra business activity | Each activity past the number the package includes | AED 1,000 per activity at Meydan | meydanfz.ae, 8 Aug 2026 |
| Renewal, year two onward | What the same licence costs next year | published by only a few zones in this set | checked 27 Sep and 3 Oct 2026 |
The last row is the important one. A first-year price without a renewal price is half a decision, and because most zones in the set do not publish renewal, a three-year comparison is usually a quotation exercise rather than a research exercise. The main exceptions: ADGM publishes its annual renewal fees, DIFC its annual operating licence, RAKEZ guarantees the same renewal price on its all-inclusive package, and Ajman Media City states that its zero-visa licence renews at the same AED 4,999 and its one-visa package drops from AED 12,999 to AED 8,999 on renewal. SHAMS also states that visa allocations renew at AED 1,600 each, and DMCC’s Nook package gives 50% off the second-year renewal.
How a free zone company setup actually runs
- UAE free zone company setup begins with the activity list, not the zone. The activity decides which zones can licence you at all and how many activities your package includes before the per-activity charge starts.
- Reserve the company name with the zone. ADGM charges USD 200 for a 30-day hold; most dirham zones fold this into the package.
- Submit the incorporation file: passport copies, a photograph, the application form, an ultimate beneficial ownership form, and a no-objection certificate if you already hold a UAE residence visa. A corporate shareholder adds a notarised and embassy-attested board resolution, power of attorney, certificate of incorporation and memorandum.
- Pay the licence and receive the trade licence. This is the AED 3,999 or AED 5,750 or AED 12,500 step, and it is the only step the headline price covers.
- Register for immigration and take the establishment card. Nothing visa-related can start until this exists, and it is the single largest cost most first-year budgets omit.
- Apply for visas: entry permit, status change, medical test, Emirates ID, then the residence stamp, priced per person and not per company.
- Open the bank account last, and expect it to take longer than everything above combined.
What a UAE free zone licence does not give you
- UAE free zone company setup does not include a residence visa. The licence and the visa allocation are separate purchases, and a zero-visa package means exactly that.
- It does not let you trade on the mainland without a mainland route: a distributor, a branch, or a dual licence where the zone offers one. SPC and Ajman Media City publish dual licence paths; most zones do not.
- It does not include an office beyond the flexi desk or co-working allowance named in the package. Fujairah Free Zone prices its flexi desk at AED 18,000 a year on its own, which is more than several zones charge for an entire entry package.
- It does not exempt you from corporate tax by itself. The 0 per cent rate belongs to a qualifying free zone person meeting conditions on qualifying income, and holding a free zone licence is not on its own sufficient.
- It does not guarantee a bank account. No zone in this census undertakes to obtain one, and account opening is where free zone timelines usually break.
- It does not fix your renewal price, which most zones here do not publish.
Opening a business bank account
A bank account does not come with a UAE free zone licence: the bank opens it separately, after its own review of the company, its owners and the expected transactions. For a new small company, two common starting points are RAKBANK’s RAKstarter account, which costs AED 103.95 a month plus a required RAKvalue package from AED 51.45, with no minimum balance, and the ADCB SmartStart business account, which costs AED 131.25 a month including VAT, with no minimum balance, for UAE nationals and residents (banks’ own fee schedules, checked October 2026). Compare all of them on our UAE business banks page.
Free zone against mainland and offshore
| Free zone | Mainland | Offshore | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price, published | from AED 3,999 | no single published tariff | no single published tariff |
| Foreign ownership | 100% | 100% for most activities | 100% |
| Trade with UAE mainland | not directly | yes | no |
| Residence visa possible | yes, bought per slot | yes | no |
| Physical office required | flexi desk usually enough | usually yes | no |
| Typical use | trading, services, holding, media | selling to the UAE market | holding assets, no UAE operations |
The comparison that decides most cases is the third row. An offshore company cannot sponsor a residence visa at all, which rules it out for anyone whose reason for incorporating is to live here. A fuller treatment sits in mainland against free zone against offshore, and the ranked budget view is in the cheapest UAE free zones.
Choosing on price without being caught by it
- UAE free zone company setup cost comparisons only work between published figures. Eleven of the sixteen offerings above publish one. Comparing a published AED 5,750 against an agent’s quote for a zone that publishes nothing compares two different kinds of object.
- Ask for the renewal price in writing before paying the first invoice, since most zones do not publish it and year two is where a cheap entry is recovered.
- Count visas per person, not per company. The allocation, the visa, the medical and the Emirates ID all repeat for each individual.
- Check what a monthly price buys and for how long before putting it in a table, as the UAQ row above shows.
Zone by zone detail sits on the individual guides linked in the census: IFZA and its activity list, Sharjah free zone company setup, the full comparison table, our free zone comparison tool and the UAE free zones dataset. If you want the licence handled rather than researched, that is free zone company formation.
Each zone on its own page. Dubai: JAFZA, Dubai Airport Freezone, Dubai Silicon Oasis, Dubai South, DWTC, Dubai Development Authority zones, Dubai Internet City, Dubai Media City, Dubai Design District and Dubai Healthcare City. Abu Dhabi: KEZAD and twofour54. Sharjah: SRTIP. Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Ras Al Khaimah and Fujairah: RAK ICC.
Frequently asked questions
How much does UAE free zone company setup cost?
The lowest zero-visa price we found published by a UAE free zone is AED 3,999 a year for the Fujairah Creative City Media package, followed by AED 4,888 at Ajman NuVentures Centre and AED 4,999 at Ajman Media City; DMCC’s AED 1,925 AstroLabs package is limited to tech activities. SPC Free Zone publishes AED 5,750 and SHAMS AED 5,760, and Dubai entry packages start near AED 12,500 at Meydan. Checked 4 October 2026.
Which UAE free zone is the cheapest?
On published figures for a zero-visa licence, Fujairah Creative City at AED 3,999 a year, then Ajman NuVentures Centre from AED 4,888 and Ajman Media City at AED 4,999. Sharjah’s SRTIP advertises AED 3,999 as a limited-time offer. Several zones publish no price at all, so any ranking that includes them is built on quotations rather than tariffs.
Does a free zone licence include a residence visa?
No. The licence and the visa allocation are separate purchases. Meydan publishes AED 1,850 per visa allocation and AED 3,500 for an employment visa, charged per person rather than per company.
What does a UAE free zone licence cost to renew?
Most zones in our census do not publish it. The main exceptions: ADGM publishes its annual renewal fees, USD 5,300 for a non-financial company including the data protection fee; DIFC publishes an annual operating licence of USD 12,000; RAKEZ guarantees the same renewal price on its all-inclusive package; and Ajman Media City states its zero-visa licence renews at the same AED 4,999 and its one-visa package drops from AED 12,999 to AED 8,999.
Can a free zone company trade on the UAE mainland?
Not directly. It needs a mainland distributor, a branch, or a dual licence where the zone offers one. SPC Free Zone and Ajman Media City publish dual licence paths; most zones do not.
Why do quoted free zone prices differ so much between websites?
Because five of the sixteen offerings we checked publish nothing. Where a zone states no price, every figure in circulation is an agent’s offer, and different agents assume different activity counts, visa counts and facilities.
Want quotations from several zones with the renewal price and the full visa arithmetic spelled out? Describe your case and compare offers from consultants.
Official references used for context in this article.
Need help with this?
Submit a request and receive tailored offers from verified UAE business consultants. Free, no obligation.